PDA

View Full Version : How and where can I upload a 60MB file

WSHBB
21-10-2003, 19:02
I want to put a 60MB video file on the internet for other to see. How, where and with what can I do this?

Steve H
21-10-2003, 19:07
I want to put a 60MB video file on the internet for other to see. How, where and with what can I do this?

Well Simply by upload it to the internet :)

Problem being, NTL only give you 55mb of space :(

You would have to sign up for a hosting package, Check THIS SITE (http://www.i-websolutions.co.uk/nthwwhosting.html) for hosting deals.

WSHBB
21-10-2003, 19:09
I have never done this type of thing before. How do I upload it to my area on ntl? I may be able to knock off a few MB by compression.

Jon M
21-10-2003, 19:10
how? - by putting it on a server with sufficient space and bandwidth to host it

where? - on your own server or someone who is nice enough to host it for you and give you ftp access

with what? - an ftp client like: http://www.smartftp.com

as i'm in a nice mood i'll let you upload it to my hosting server... depending on how many people want to download it and for how long it needs to be there.

downquark1
21-10-2003, 19:13
Silly question but have you tried to compress it?

Steve H
21-10-2003, 19:13
I have never done this type of thing before. How do I upload it to my area on ntl? I may be able to knock off a few MB by compression.

Yeah, Try Zipping it up with Winzip, or RAR.. Might take a bit of it off.

To access your NTL Space.. Its..

ftp://username:Password@upload.ntlworld.com/

Just drag and drop the files like a normal folder...

Jon M
21-10-2003, 19:16
if you want to compress it i recommend this : http://www.7-zip.com

to upload to your own ntl webspace.. just put these details into smartftp:

server: "upload.ntlworld.com"
username: (your ntl account name)
password: (your account password)

philip.j.fry
21-10-2003, 20:02