PDA

View Full Version : Failure in authenticating new NTL 2meg Cable Broadband - pls help if you can

Jangola
21-09-2005, 00:04
Hi, I just found these forums by doing a search online and thought i'd post here in the vain hope that someone might be able to help me.

I had an NTL cable modem installed today (not set-top box), and I can't get past the stage where i enter my PIN number and surname etc. Every time it comes up with a msg saying there was an error.

I'm fairly good with PC's and built this one, but i'm not too good with internet stuff.

I've spent the whole day on the phone with various people at NTL, and i've tried everything they've suggested, to no avail. The weird thing is that the pc is recognising the connection, as I get to the authentication stage, and I get a valid IP address when i cmd *ipconfig*.

The problem seems to be that i can't access the secure authentication site that they told me to try, 80.5.178.26 - it gives me the secure site warning but then doesn't load the page.

I've tried this on two completely separate PC's, and they both get the same problem, so i'm doubtful that it's anything to do with my set ups. NTL suggested changing my internet security settings, which i tried. They were going to send out an engineer but i got cut off, and then the next person i spoke to said that the problem was my winsock files, which he was sure were corrupt.

I'm certain that both my pc's (one brand new clean install and the other a few years old) don't have exactly the same corrupt files on them preventing access to the secure authentication server, but i tried a winsock fix tool anyway to make sure.

Both PC's ethernet and other internet security settings are just fine, because they work perfectly with my old ISP Demon, which i haven't cancelled yet. Both don't have any demon software on them, they are just ethernetted into a BB modem/router that a third PC uses. So i'm am 99% sure it isn't my PC's or their settings.