PDA

View Full Version : Call centres

Pages : [1] 2

clarie
16-09-2005, 23:41
I write this thread not to complain about call centres but to defend them - particularly outbound call centre agents. I reckon everyone should give us a break.

I work as an outbound call agent and that usually involves calling people who aren't expecting my call, ie they don't know me. However I don't work in sales.

I have just had quite an annoying shift, where I have called so many rude people. Now I can appreciate very well that if someone calls you at home in the evening, it can be irritating. However, need people be SO rude? Tonight I was asking a few questions, which took about one minute. Yet people hung up on me before I got chance to finish my sentence, swore at me, and generally made out like I was the biggest pain in the @** they had ever had the misfortune to encounter.

I would be ever so grateful if people could just say 'no thanks, bye.' Instead of just cutting me off. One guy pretended to be polite and asked me to wait whilst he went to turn off the tap. Then came back and asked me to wait while he answered the door. Then eventually after a while came back and just hung up on me. I called back, and his wife told me they 'really weren't interested.' Fair enough, but say it politely and then hang up, don't leave me waiting. Obviously this was his amusing way of dealing with nuisance callers.

But please people, spare a thought for the caller, who is just doing this to raise some cash, and is about as interested in the survey as you are. It's not their fault, if they were to refuse the job on the grounds that calling people at home is intrusive, then there would be a lot more unemployed people out there.

And please please stop hanging up before they even finish their sentence. Sometimes you can't even hear someone hanging up on you, so you say your whole speech before realising no one is listening to you.