PDA

View Full Version : Superhub Replacement Router (100mb)

Loveday10
26-04-2012, 11:33
Hi Guys,

I'm pretty much a newbie when it comes to routers and what to look for.

I live in a house with 3 other lads and we have the virgin superhub with 100mb speed, but the wireless is absolutely shocking (as you all probably know).

Could someone recommend a good router based on these requirements:

- Able to handle 3 consoles, 1 tivo box, 4 iphones, 1 ipad and 3 laptops connected.

- As close as we can to 100mb speed wireless, no worries if around the 50mb 70mb speed.

- Budget of £60

Also, when it comes to setting up the new router im pretty new to all this kind of stuff.

Do we just put the superhub into modem mode, link up the new router via an Ethernet cable then thats it?

Or is there something extra.

Cheers,
Rob

Jumping
26-04-2012, 11:55
Indeed you would put the superhub in modem mode and attach it to the new rotuer via an ethernet cable.

The tivo box uses its own connection so it doesn't go through the router.

You get what you pay for I have to say im pretty pleased with my TP-LINK wr1034nd which you can get on Amazon for around £42 if you had a bigger budget Linksys does good kit. But as I said the TP-Link been great for me wireless speed and signal strength is so much better than the superhub.

thenry
26-04-2012, 11:59
have a look at these two threads...

http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/12/33687022-best-router.html

http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/12/33686774-looking-for-good-wireless-router-100mb.html

setup wise. don't use any CDs that come with the router. access the routers settings via the web IP. as long as its set to obtain IP via auto or dynamic all you need to do is stick the SH into modem mode then link a ethernet cable. in modem mode the ethernet port on the SH closest to the white cable input is the 1 to use.. then the other end goes into the routers WAN port.