PDA

View Full Version : Superhub Moving the superhub

blakey1000
12-10-2011, 09:34
Hi!

I'm new to all this so apologies if I get my terminology wrong.

Can anyone help with this please?

I recently had virgin media installed (phone, Tivo, broadband) and I must say - I like it!

However, I don't like where the superhub is located (on the floor in front of the TV). It looks a bit of a mess and the blue lighting is distracting. However, because of the short length of the cable connecting the superhub to where the broadband comes in from the street my location options are currently limited.

What i'd like to do is get an extension cable and run this under the floor boards so I can then locate the super hub in the other corner of the room, on the book shelf. I reckon 10m of cable would cover it. I would then need to run ethernet cables back under the floor boards to connect to my stuff (internt TV, surround sound system, apple TV).

Is this possible? What cable would I need? Would it mess up the signal?

many thanks

Kingofthedead4
12-10-2011, 09:42
If you go to maplins they can sort you out the cable that you need with the correct connections. I have switched my modem and cable tv cable many times and have not noticed any difference in performance.

Chris
12-10-2011, 09:47
It's worth mentioning that while it should be ok to move it yourself, it is possible that it may not work after being moved. This is because altering the cable length affects the power levels at the modem and if they drop too low it's goodnight Vienna. The only way to find out if it will work is to try it though.

Use satellite grade coax, if possible with moulded f-connectors at either end to save you the hassle of making up your own cable (also because poorly-fitted connectors can cause noise on the line and royally screw up your service).

blakey1000
12-10-2011, 09:53
nice one guys, i'll give it a go and see if it works. The missus will be delighted if it does!

blakey1000
14-10-2011, 19:54
Hi,