PDA

View Full Version : Camera and Tesco

Central
17-04-2011, 15:31
Not to sure what rights I have so thought I would ask here before I contact Tesco again.

I bought a Samsung PL80 Digital Camera in October 2010 from a Tesco store and all has been ok.

I come to use it over the weekend and there is part of the LCD screen that's not working. I can only describe it like a ink blotch. I took it back to Tesco's today in the original box and with the receipt. When I got there I got told I could not return it even if its faulty as the USB cable was not there and nor was the instructions. (I had lost the instructions) the woman was right stuck up and when I questioned her on this she turned around to a colleague and said "When a faulty item comes back does it have to be as was sold" her colleague then said yes it does. I am 100% this is not right as I work in retail and if a product comes back faulty but not with all parts we still take it back.

Anyway I got told to call a 0845 number which i did and got through to someone who said tough basically and its accidental damage as i must of put pressure on it. I know for a fact I did not and told him this he then said if someone has an iPhone and if they push to hard on the screen it would crack the LCD.

Do I have any rights to get my camera sorted or is it not worth my time and effort?

Thanks for any help

Zing
17-04-2011, 15:38
Just quote sales of goods act and ask to see the manager. Goods must be of reasonable quality and last a reasonable amount of time they are talking out their bottom. Was it over £100? if so inform them you are prepared to take the company to court and demand their names as you will be contacting head office

I called trading standards about something like this and it does not even be in original packaging

Peter_
17-04-2011, 15:38
Take it to another store the largest one in your area and do not mention going to the other store.

Do as zing says as well.

Tesco Stores