PDA

View Full Version : "You'll never have cable"

b3nj1
17-06-2010, 15:36
I had an installer visit my new build flat today in Peasdown St John nr Bath. It is a fibre area. Unfortunately he told me my block will "never have cable" as we dont have a duct.

The rest of the street has cable, so there are obviously connections nearby.

I was wondering if there's any way I can privately get cable fitted to my first floor flat? then get Virgin to switch it on.

It looks to be a fairly easy reach from either street and the green cabinet is less than 50M away

Obviously I am fairly new to this, and apologise in advance if my query is too vague.

I am desperate to get cable in though as a 24 meg connection can only guarantee a 2.4 meg speed

BenMcr
17-06-2010, 15:37
Follow the steps in the post on the Virgin Community Forum http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Fibre-optic-broadband-cable/Want-Cable-been-told-it-s-not-available-We-might-be-able-to-help/td-p/20585

b3nj1
17-06-2010, 15:42
Follow the steps in the post on the Virgin Community Forum http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Fibre-optic-broadband-cable/Want-Cable-been-told-it-s-not-available-We-might-be-able-to-help/td-p/20585

Thanks very much

Is this a sticky?? If not it should be.

:)

weesteev
17-06-2010, 16:03
Hi b3nj1

If its a new build flat then its unlikely we can run cable externally on the building, there will also more than likely be some form of restrictions on the footpaths outside the property. There are many reasons why your new flat doesnt have cable but send your details over to cablemystreet@virginmedia.co.uk and the team can look into this for you!

Best of luck

Kymmy
17-06-2010, 16:10
Thanks very much

Is this a sticky?? If not it should be.

:)

As it's not on Cableforum you'll have to ask the Virgin Media mods about stickying it ;)

AntiSilence
17-06-2010, 16:15
Every time I've moved house I've made sure that there's a cable point outside :) lol. Can't be living without cable internet.

BenMcr