PDA

View Full Version : will virgin tech know modem is chipped

jo28
28-04-2010, 03:50
Hi every1 hope someone can help, im not very technical so go easy. Ok last year my bf at the time decided to go and chip or mod our virgin modem. I have a contract with virgin for the tv/broadband and modem but he wanted a faster speed for his ps3 games so away he went and got the modem chipped.

Anyway to cut to the point the bf is out of the picture, i now am stuck with the modded modem and it has been flashed or something as its no longer working, i am wondering if i phone out the virgin tech to fix it or replace it...will they know its chipped/modded?

thanks in advance for any help/advice

pip08456
28-04-2010, 04:02
Yes VM have solved the problem of chipped modems being connected to their network. Best bet is to disconnect it and ring to say it is not working, pretend to do the reboot and they should send a new one.

The ex is a s**t for leaving you in this position and putting you there in the first place.

Without going into the tech details, it wasn't chipped it was using another customers MAC address

jo28
28-04-2010, 04:13
thanks for the quick reply. Think im screwed, phoned virgin and they said there must be apower issue in your area and they want to send a tech out to resolve problem...they wouldn't send a new modem....hmmmm dunno what to do now either im stuck paying for internet with no connection, risk getting caught by virgin tech or maybe upgrade to 50mb that way they will send me out new modem.

speedfreak
28-04-2010, 06:58
A tech visit is required to get a 50Mb modem, im sure they dont post them out

Peter_
28-04-2010, 07:00
A tech visit is required to get a 50Mb modem, im sure they dont post them out
Manned installation only.;)

Jayster
28-04-2010, 07:43
I know its not really an option now but u could have said your bf took it with him.

Ben B
28-04-2010, 07:45