PDA

View Full Version : Does this look ok?

h.cowell
25-04-2010, 18:34
Please bear with me - I'm not too technically minded when it comes to these things and could use some advice, please :). We normally connect to the internetvia a netgear router but the connection has been flaky the past few days and last night went off completely.

I have spent all afternoon changing router channels, connecting and reconnecting, changing cables and have finally got a stable connection (for now!) by hardwiring directly to the modem (btw I already tried this a few times this afternoon and sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't. One time I got a connection and then lost it again.)

So I'm confused as to what's causing the problem and want to rule out a problem with the modem/VM. Here is the current modem info - does it look ok? It's an oldish modem, labelled NTL 250.

Downstream Lock : Locked
Downstream Channel Id : 0
Downstream Frequency : 586750000 Hz
Downstream Modulation : QAM64
Downstream Symbol Rate : 6952 Ksym/sec
Downstream Interleave Depth : taps12Increment17
Downstream Receive Power Level : -1.7 dBmV
Downstream SNR : 39.4 dB

Upstream Lock : Locked
Upstream Channel ID : 5
Upstream Frequency : 34000000 Hz
Upstream Modulation : QPSK
Upstream Symbol Rate : 2560 Ksym/sec
Upstream transmit Power Level : 46.0 dBmV
Upstream Mini-Slot Size : 2

Thanks!!!

---------- Post added at 18:34 ---------- Previous post was at 17:25 ----------

Sorry, after posting I read the sticky (duh!) asking people not to just ask for advice like this... to my untrained eye the figures look ok, right?

I'm wondering if the problem is a new wireless network nearby. The list of detectable networks seems to have grown and one or two have very strong signals. We have two laptops and another computer on our network and each are reacting differently ie one can be connected while the other two can't or are extremely slow. Frustrating!!!

jb66
25-04-2010, 18:42