PDA

View Full Version : Bandwidth throttling controlled through D-Link router?

TMDoll
25-03-2010, 13:45
Hi, I am new to virgin and after a few weeks of brilliant speed all of a sudden it appears as through I am one of the 5% of users who take the michael and need to be restricted.

When I connect directly to the modem I get the full speed. Through the router it then cuts the speed by a certain fraction at certain times of the day and seems to be inline with what should happen in the "traffic management policy".

I have ruled out a dodgy router as we had a replacement and also tried another router altogether with no improvements.

Has anyone else experienced this and does this mean that all bandwidth throttling is controlled through the router, not the modem?

Casbar
25-03-2010, 14:09
I would say No, throttling should be through the Modem, if it was through the router, all everyone would do, is connect direct to the Modem.

So I would say something else is going on.

Kellargh
25-03-2010, 14:20
Throttling is done through the modem, not the router, so there is something else causing the problem. Have you tried changing the channel in the router?

TMDoll
25-03-2010, 15:24
I've tried a lot of things including a totally different router with exactly the same results. I'll look into using a different channel and try that.

Basically I'm certain I'm getting throttled as it all seems to fall in line with VM's "traffic management policy". I will also connect directly to the modem all night and download like crazy and see what happens.

I work in telecomms and to my knowledge a fibre optic service should handle absolutely masses of data. They clearly haven't got the capacity required to provide each user with the promised line if they have to limit users.

Peter_
25-03-2010, 15:34
I've tried a lot of things including a totally different router with exactly the same results. I'll look into using a different channel and try that.