PDA

View Full Version : Slow Torrent Downloads

DJAudioFreak
17-01-2010, 12:17
Hi There,

I've just moved from Sky to Virgin Media as Sky use to capp all my downloads making it impossible to use. Since moving to VM my bit torrents can only gain a maximum speed of about 10k with a top speed of 30k when I left it on last night.

I've been using bit torrents for the last 2 years so know my way around abit but I just can't seem to get the download speed past 10k. The upload seems to be working fine and is running at up to 40 - 50k when seeding unlimited.

All my ports are open and working and I've tried using the encrypted protol to hide the connection but nothing seems to be working. I've check through all my router setting (Netgear DG834G v5) and even updated the firmware yet it still continues to run slow.

I changed my bit torrent client from uTorrent to Vuse which resulted in a gain in speed to 124k for a short while but now is back down to a limited 10k. The torrent i'm connecting to for testing I downloaded the week before at over 100k so I know it's good and it now has more seeders than it did then. Out of the 1600 in the swarm I only seem to be connecting to about 30 people...

I can download at over 500k through I.E and have no trouble running games and browsing so I'm really stumped on what to do next, so if there is anyone who has had this problem or can help that would be greatly appreciated?

AbyssUnderground
17-01-2010, 13:31
Set the max global connections to 500 and max per torrent to 250.
Set the encryption to Enabled (not forced).
Disable uPnP and forward the port yourself and make sure your LAN IP is static or the port forward rule will become invalid.
Set your upload speed to 20KB/s maximum if on 10Mbps.
Set your upload speed to 40KB/s maximum if on 20Mbps.
Set your upload speed to 80KB/s maximum if on 50Mbps.
Make sure your torrent has plenty of seeds and peers. Remember torrents with no or few seeds will probably be much slower than one with more.