PDA

View Full Version : PC Guard

cider drinker
10-11-2009, 10:17
Hi Guys

I'm new to this so please bear with me. Has anyone had problems with PC Guard?

A little while ago, Virgin upgraded their PC Guard and that's when the trouble started. First it slowed my PC down, then made it slower until eventually it was taking around 15 minutes to boot up.

Then it crashed. I kept getting a message saying that it could not open anti virus. I tried all sorts but, in the end, I contacted the helpline who were unable to help. They got their elite squad to to do it for me and wanted to do a remote, no internet connection. To cut a longer story short, I employed a professional IT consultant to have a look for me. He tried everything and in the end got around it by re-installing Windows XP and then uninstalling PC Guard with RPS files. Cost £85.00.

My gripe is, if Virgin installed it, they should have the wherewithall to get rid of it.

I have told Virgin that I hold them responsible, but no doubt it will be ignored.

Moan over,

Cider Drinker.

Peter_
10-11-2009, 11:59
They have the official removal tools available and if you had let them book a timeslot for a callback from a 2nd line agent then you would had your copy of PC Guard removed without the need to reinstall Windows for free and would not have charged you £85.

As you chose to get in your own professional to remove it for you and willingly paid his fee then I rather doubt you will receive any recompense.

You do know that you could have booted your machine into safe mode with networking to help with the removal.

cider drinker
10-11-2009, 17:56
Hello Moldova,

Nice to meet you. Although I indicated their second line of support as their elite squad, they tried to help, but couldn't. They gave RPS, etc, files, but had to send them to me via my laptop which had an internet connection.