PDA

View Full Version : Moan about speed results

Pia
12-10-2009, 23:41
I'm supposed to be on 10 meg, and have been doing tests randomly at different times, on various sites and including this one for the last few days and i'm never getting above 2meg download speed, or 0.5 upload.

I have tried wiring direct to modem (currently on wireless) and it makes no difference.

Tbh i haven't noticed it much when generally browsing, because i tend to just visit forums and not download anything.

I've got new neighbours who mentioned the other day that they 'do' DVD's so i'm assuming they're downloading on a large scale... Not sure if the timings of them moving in match my loss of speed.

So what next - spend 7 years on the phone to India while they tell me it's my computers fault? :shrug:

Anything i can do beforehand to make the process less painful?

Thanks, and my apologies for posting such a common question, but i'm a noob :p:

Steve Day
13-10-2009, 00:05
over the last couple of weeks i have noticed that my usually rock solid 10meg (9.5 ish actual) connection has at peak times (about 6-8pm) swung wildly on the download speed from 2meg to 9 meg.

the upload speed is a constant .45 -.49 meg which is correct. upload is only 512kpbs max.

out of peak hours (morning and after 9.30) i get the speed which i have been used to since the 2-10 upgrade.

however someone pointed out that the colleges and unis are now back and overloading the system maybe. there is a ring of definite possibility in that at peak hours.

anyway u are not alone in noticing speed drops atm. the newsgroup is full of such cries.

i use the following sites to test my speed:

http://www.speedtest.bbmax.co.uk/
http://www.speedtest.net/
http://myspeed.visualware.com/

Steve

Peter_
13-10-2009, 07:15
I'm supposed to be on 10 meg, and have been doing tests randomly at different times, on various sites and including this one for the last few days and i'm never getting above 2meg download speed, or 0.5 upload.