PDA

View Full Version : New Virgin customer, need advice re: fresh install.

sj985
24-09-2009, 21:32
Greetings,

I am completely new to cable...I understand how it works etc but am keen to know HOW the cable is installed from the termination points on the kerbside to the box on the side of your house.

I would like to know the following, if possible:-

1. Outside my house there is a line of concrete slabs, no more than 6 inches high and 3 inches thick, sitting in front of the CATV point. Will the Virgin tech dig under this and then create a trench to run the cable completely underground to my house?

2. How is the cable to the house connected to the street cabling at the CATV point?

Hope my questions don't baffle you! :dunce:

Thanks!

adzii_nufc
25-09-2009, 08:38
1) From the Green Box they will feed a cable Underground in a black Tube that presumably is already built. This cable will come up via a black Sink outside of your house

The VM techie will pick the Most Appropriate way to get it up your garden etc. he then Connects it to another cable Inside A little box On the wall of your house. This Other cable will then lead to the room of your choice and Into a Nice Shiny Modem... Complete :)

Kymmy
25-09-2009, 08:54
1) From the Green Box they will feed a cable Underground in a black Tube that presumably is already built. This cable will come up via a black Sink outside of your house

The VM techie will pick the Most Appropriate way to get it up your garden etc. he then Connects it to another cable Inside A little box On the wall of your house. This Other cable will then lead to the room of your choice and Into a Nice Shiny Modem... Complete :)

And all that coming from a guy who wasn;t sure how to wire up an satellite :D