PDA

View Full Version : Moving to complete new VM installation - some advice please?

Billius
31-08-2009, 13:15
Hi all, I've qot a few questions in preparation for a new VM fit next week that I hope people can help me with please:

I'm moving from Sky+ HD and BT Phone + Broadband 3 to VirginMedia bundle
Im getting XXL Broadband, V+ HD (M+) TV and (L) phoneline

Can I ask some simple questions as though I'm a technical person I have little knowledge of cable setups:

1/ I've requested to transfer my BT number to Virgin. BT have said that they'll complete this transfer on 12th Sept. My current Virgin installation is set for the 7th. Does this mean that
a) I'll have everything working apart from the phone side?
b) the phone side will work but it will be on another temporary number or
c) am I soon going to get a call/letter from virgin saying my installation has been delayed to coincide with BT?
d) When does BT 'terminate' everything? - I was going to rely on services overlapping (well maybe not a working phone number from BT - but definately broadband) - that way if I wasn't happy with Virgin I could still go back (within 28 days you can cancel for a full refund?)

2/ My property had some old NTL wires/box on the outside wall of my terrace - I just checked and whoever fit my drive chopped/buried the house end of the cable - groan. I imagine if I can find the twin cable then they'll fit a new box on the outside of the house - but -
a) how does this then get split between TV, BB and Phone? My BT phone line comes in elsewhere into the house and ends up at a master socket on the opposite side of the house to the old wires coming from the NTL/NYNEX box.
b) how to they wire in old telephone/extensions?
c) and how to they normally wire to the TV/STB and BB Router? I have STB(with Cables from Sky LNB) coming into my lounge, a dedicated ADSL socket and my router in back upstairs bedroom and phone coming into hall - what are they prepared to do in terms of wiring?