PDA

View Full Version : A few questions

csutcliff
13-06-2009, 15:06
Hi, I'm a computer science student at UEA in Norwich (so by all means get technical in your answers ;) ) and until recently I lived in a remote area with no cable and poor adsl connections so i ahve very limited cable knowledge.

Where I used to live 9 times out of 10 the poor speeds people had were mainly caused by poor internal wiring and low quality microfilters, they make a big difference when the external line is long and quality is poor to begin with).

Now I'm at Uni and in a cabled area I've ordered a Phone M, TV L (with V+) and Broadband XL (might upgrade to XXL depends on how it goes). I'm assuming that the rules are at least similar for it and based on that and what I've read on these and similar forums I have the following questions about installation:

The previous owners of the house had TV over cable and the brown box on the outside of the house is connected to two tv/fm isolators in different parts of the house, one of these isn't required so can it be removed?

Will the old wiring be tested for SNR/Attenuation etc?

Will the old wiring be replaced if its not up to it?

I understand that the phone is actually a separate cable (wasn't installed previously) so will this come in where the old tv outlet was? (so i can route the internal wires to the right place)

Can the old entry point that is in the right place support both the modem and the TV at the same time or does that require two entry points?

Will the installer be happy running cables under the floor as there are no carpets yet (being fitted the day after) and the floorboards are already up?
or would it be better to lay the cables under the floor myself and have the installer crimp the ends on and connect it all up?

If laying the cables myself what cable would you recommend?

Thanks for reading my post, sorry its a long one... I want to make sure this goes smoothly :)

lsproc
14-06-2009, 09:10