PDA

View Full Version : More installation Woes

anarchi
03-06-2009, 11:50
This is my first attempt to deal with Virgin Media and, after my current experience with the installs team and customer care, is very close to being my last.

I ordered the 50Mb broadband package (with TV and phone) on May 12 and arranged for an installation date of June 1 between 8:30 and 1:00. The installer arrived mid morning on that day, but seemed unprepared for the installation. He didn't know what package was to be installed and was surprised that there was no cabling in place. (This is a new install, so it is unclear why he expected to find any.) He said that he wouldn't be able to complete the installation that day as he needed a two-man crew to install the cables. He then looked for and eventually found the "T Box" (cable junction?) outside my property, but discovered that it was full of earth. He said that it would need to be dug up and a new box installed and that he would arrange to have that done as soon as possible. After talking to someone on his phone, he said that VM would try to get someone out that day or, if that was not possible, early the next.

Nobody came.

The next day I called customer care and was told that the T Box replacement had been scheduled for June 17. I objected to this and was eventually put through to Ryan, who sympathised, but was unable to actually do anything other than contact the installs manager (Hazel). He called me back and left a message saying that he had been unable to talk to Hazel (the Managers were all in a meeting), but that he had left a message with Hazel's PA and had been told that Hazel would call me.

Wednesday morning and I have received no call from either Ryan or Hazel. I talked to a Scots woman in customer care who was friendly and sympathetic, but utterly unable to actually do anything.