PDA

View Full Version : Radio Dropping Out

Silver Hair
22-03-2009, 16:49
Silver haired newbie here and would appreciate any help with internet radio dropping out and loss of connection.

Problem seems to have deteriorated since the new year and spoke to VM faults last week who found ping loss. Engineer duly came round and changed old silver modem for new black Ambit 256 modem.

Radio kept dropping out though actual connection loss does not seem to be so frequent now.

Got back to VM who were'nt very helpful and as long as I could get a website then as far they were concerned the service was ok.

However, I would very much like some clarification please on the actual modem lights. I was told that as long the sync and ready lights were permanently on then I had service to the modem. However, when the actual connection is working ok, both these lights are on and the enet/send/recv lights flash. When the connection is lost, sync and ready are on, enet light is also on, permanently, but send and recv lights are blank.

I was informed by VM that as long as sync and ready lights are on then it's ok regardless of what the send and receive lights are doing.

Could someone kindly clarify/confirm/explain this please.

On the radio issue, if I listen to any BBC station, Capital, Heart, Capital Gold with or without real player it repeatedly drops out ( not at regular intervals )for a couple of seconds.

Have 2 pcs' and drop out happens simultaneously. Have XP pro sp3 with netgear WGR314v7 router.

Have cleaned pc up, checked router settings but problem(s) still persist.

Sorry if I've been a bit long winded in explaing problem(s) but this oldie cannot seem to get rationale anywhere.

Thanks John

PS. on 10meg and seem to get 9.5 when I've tested and have updated router software

xocemp
22-03-2009, 17:02
Welcome Silver Hair, John.
And thats by no means long winded, the more info the better :)