PDA

View Full Version : Problems in the Brighton Area as of 23/02/09

omnitrio06
26-02-2009, 16:07
Hello, firstly I want to apologise for not using an ISP email address, that's simply because I have no idea what mine is and I've never used it before and don't intend on trusting VM with my mail.

Basically, I wanted to say that I'm in the BN1 area of Brighton and since monday have experienced ridiculously slow internet speeds (I'm on a 2MB line with an NTL modem). I called up for assistance and after going through the typical "Have you tried resetting the modem?" lark (Which I had, many times.) the guy said he didn't know what the problem could be. I asked if there was an area fault and he said "Ah yes the BN1 area is experiencing a connection drop at the moment it will be fixed by 1pm Tuesday".

Reassured by this, I waited to no avail. Wednesday 9pm I phoned up again and told them the situation and how it should have been fixed on tuesday, and he said "Yes there is a problem in the BN1 area but there is no estimated time for a fix, it could be 1 hour or 24 hours".

Alas it's Thursday now and still nothing, although from 1am - 11am the internet has been it's regular speed (I usually get 250kbs on a good day, now I get 2-13kbs). I'm not sure if this means that things are being fixed or what really. But I want to ask:

-Is anyone else in Brighton (or anywhere really) experiencing a similar problem?
-Do you think this has anything to do with the news of upgrading 2MB to 10MB?
-Has anyone else been in a situation like this? If so then how long did it take/what did you do to get it fixed?

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: For some additional information, not only is browsing and downloading very slow, occasionally the connection will cut altogether. Sometimes this requires a modem reset (then back to the slow speeds) other times I just have to wait and it will come back up again (But still with the slow speeds).

Stabhappy
26-02-2009, 16:17