PDA

View Full Version : Extremely high game pings and slow loading times.

dsouter
19-02-2009, 10:58
Hi guys,

Your probably gonna say omg not another of these posts so im not sure whether to post under a different topic or create my own, so voila i created my own.

Im a relative newb with this sort of stuff:dunce: but will try to explain as best i can.

I am getting around 500 - 5k ping in the evening on online gaming. I have a 2mb connection with VM (i know times are hard ;) ) but it has been absoluelty fine since i can ever remember but within the last week it has been absolutely terrible i cant load up web pages, get kicked off online gaming, etc etc.
I rang customer support and they said it was an over subscription in my area (Havant, Hampshire) and said would be fixed on the 23/3/09. I cant really wait that long to be honest. But when i spoke to them again they say that it isnt that and its a problem with my pc. But I told them that my laptop does it as well. They just dont listen!!:mad: They sent an engineer out to look at my cable modem which he said was fine. He then walked down the road and checked my signal strength which he said was too low, so he boosted it to a higher db. This obviously hasnt worked. Im at a loss on what to do :s

I have threatened them with leaving but cant really as i havent a phone line only VM. If i did leave them then i would have to pay for a phone line to be installed and the cost other suppliers at the moment doesnt really compare to VM (phone broadband and tv wise).

Any help would be appreciated as i havent a clue on what the next step is to take.

Look forward to your response.

rjsetford
19-02-2009, 11:26
I rang customer support and they said it was an over subscription in my area (Havant, Hampshire) and said would be fixed on the 23/3/09.

I'm in Havant as well. Which bit are you in?

I had similar issues to you but a 2nd engineer visit solved that.

Rich

dsouter
20-02-2009, 09:10