PDA

View Full Version : Absolutely plagued with recorded sales calls

dizzi
26-01-2009, 14:28
Recently moved house and got a new Virgin/NTL phone number. It's obviously been around the houses a bit as we're getting tele-sales calls out of the eyeballs.

Registered with the telephone preference service about 5 minutes after I got the phone number and the human at the other end of the phone calls have died down now while we wait for that registration to get through the system.

Thing is we are getting absolutely plagued by automated dialler calls - the same ones endlessly, if you press to go through to a human and demand to be put on their no-call list they say yes (or hang up on you) and then the dialler calls back an hour or so later. I'm coming home from work to find my answerphone is clogged up with these messages, I'm answering the phone 3-4 times a day to them and I'm at my wits end with it.

Unfortunately I'm a supply teacher, so heavily dependent on the phone, and although I have caller ID set up, lots of the times my agency numbers come up as withheld too - so I can't just not take withheld numbers because of work. It also means that I HAVE to jump to it when the phone goes off - and then it's these flipping messages (which ALL seem to have the same woman on the recordings so she must have been busy selling cruises, free phones, windows and debt recovery plans).

I'm really really getting to the end of my tether with it - any advice? Anything Virgin can actually DO before I brave ringing the Indian call centre?

BenMcr
26-01-2009, 14:34
Only thing Virgin can do is change your number (or put the Anonymous block on that you can't do)

STONEISLAND
26-01-2009, 14:37
I get loads of them annoying dialler calls to. I'm also TPS, make no difference. It seems that if you use a dialler the law does not apply to you. I understand your frustration

dizzi
26-01-2009, 14:51