PDA

View Full Version : Problems staying connected

sparky621
02-01-2009, 18:43
Hi all,
After a short while of reasonable stability my modem has decided it once again doesn't want to stay connected. Every time I have to go through the full power down/reset procedure we all love so much! Sometimes I've had to repeat it 2 or 3 times before I get a connection.
The modem is a ntl:home 200 and is about 7 years old now.
My levels are:
Downstream Receive Power Level : 25.3 dBmV
Downstream SNR : 23.4 dB
Upstream Transmit Power Level : 37.0 dBmV

I've also got the fault log hopefully one of you will be able to tell me whats happening?:
Thanks and HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU ALL :)
Sparky

Graham M
02-01-2009, 18:47
Have you phoned VM yet?

sparky621
02-01-2009, 18:56
Hi Graham
Not phoned yet, thought I would arm myself with any advice from here first. I haven't got a VM phone so Tech Support is chargable and I find it very annoying when I'm read the reset script. I'm an electrical engineer so I don't need some indian call centre to tell me how to do a full power down/restart.
To me the Event Log seems to indicate a big problem but maybe its normal?
My modem is about only about 20 foot from the street cabinet so I know I have some issues with power levels.

Axegrinder
02-01-2009, 18:57
Hi all,
After a short while of reasonable stability my modem has decided it once again doesn't want to stay connected. Every time I have to go through the full power down/reset procedure we all love so much! Sometimes I've had to repeat it 2 or 3 times before I get a connection.
The modem is a ntl:home 200 and is about 7 years old now.
My levels are:
Downstream Receive Power Level : 25.3 dBmV
Downstream SNR : 23.4 dB
Upstream Transmit Power Level : 37.0 dBmV

I've also got the fault log hopefully one of you will be able to tell me whats happening?:
Thanks and HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU ALL :)
Sparky