PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else noticing their modem not working in the morning?

ikthius
29-12-2008, 14:39
Hey everyone,

I have been putting up with a problem for the last 2 months.
My Modem seems to be updating itself every weekday morning between 7-10am.

I honestly thought it was all finished with just before christmas but it started back today.

now the lights go through random sequences, but mainly the power level is always on and the ethernet is always on, but between the said times, the rest are all over the place, but after 10am (not always that time) it settles.
Mainly the ready and sync lights are the ones that flash on and off, there is some up & down activity then the lights seem to all flash 3 or 4 times, then it tries to restart itself.

I am always on the computer after 7am to check emails and what not and this is starting to annoy me.

I am on the 10mb service with virgin and I have an Ambit 120 modem connected to linksys router and my OS is XP SP3

does someone know what is going on? or can someone help me stop this happening every weekday morning

Stabhappy
29-12-2008, 14:42
It will be worth posting your power levels from the modem's config page (192.168.100.1) both downstream and upstream both when it's working and when it's not. It should help find any problem.

ikthius
29-12-2008, 14:48
It will be worth posting your power levels from the modem's config page (192.168.100.1) both downstream and upstream both when it's working and when it's not. It should help find any problem.

as it is working just now here is from the first page:
Downstream Receive Power Level : 6.67 dBmv
Downstream SNR : 33.96 dB
Upstream Transmit Power Level : 51.00 dBmv

Stabhappy
29-12-2008, 14:54
Looks alright to me, may be an issue during the times you've stated though so don't forget to check it tommorow :)

ikthius
29-12-2008, 15:00
Looks alright to me, may be an issue during the times you've stated though so don't forget to check it tommorow :)

will do