PDA

View Full Version : Basic wireless network Q

DJBKS
27-12-2008, 00:17
Hi

I've got the virgin wireless router coming and have a couple of Q's

1. Can I still connect to a desk top using a ethernet cable and also have the wireless working to other computers/consols etc..

2. If I can't conect using wires to the desk top and have wireless to other computers (ie can only have fully wireless and not part wireless part wired) will I need a a USB type divice as my desk top is getting on a bit and does not have wireless built into it and if so do virgin supply it at no further cost or at what cost??

prob a basic Q but i'm new to this stuff.

:confused:

moaningmags
27-12-2008, 00:18
Hi DJBKS :welcome:
The router has 4 ethernet ports, so you can still connect your computer using ethernet.

DJBKS
27-12-2008, 00:22
thanks moaningmags, that was a fast reply, faster that I can type!

Northeast_user
27-12-2008, 00:25
thanks moaningmags, that was a fast reply, faster that I can type!

They're good here LOL.

moaningmags
27-12-2008, 00:26
lol no problem, if you have any problems when you do get the router just post here and loads of people will help.
One thing when setting up the router it defaults to channel 6, I highly recommend changing that to 1 or 11.

LaineY
27-12-2008, 11:52
I use channel 11 as it gives me better signal quality and better range...
and it takes it a few Mhz off what other things run on in the house(for EG Baby monitors and Video Senders)

I normally find the same as Moaningmags...

1 and 11 seem to be the best channels..
plus 90% of routers Default to 6 (or around the central channel)..

so if theres neighbours around you with routers on the default channel you will clearly get some interfearance..

Merry Christmas Guys...

Raistlin
27-12-2008, 12:02