PDA

View Full Version : try again with virgin b-band device

Zoltan
30-09-2008, 23:48
Just had virgin installed

Net works fine on desktop

Before using wireless installation disk Plugged router in and was asked to register on a website
with www.routerlogin.com I think. I entered my desired ssid, Security passphrase - selected Channel: 06 and Router Password

My laptop detected signal and I tried to connect - just stalled with message saying acquiring network address - to no avail

Then installed the Virgin wireless program provided.

Went through all the steps, now tells me that the netgear router provided isn't from Virgin Broad band and I should use Virgin broadband device

Now I'm confused

Please help:p:

chickendippers
30-09-2008, 23:53
It sounds like you might have an IP address defined. Make sure your TCP/IP Properties are set to obtain IP address automatically.

Zoltan
30-09-2008, 23:59
It sounds like you might have an IP address defined
Forgive me but I'm a bit of a novice. Do you mean on my pc or laptop?

Make sure your TCP/IP Properties are set to obtain IP address automatically

On which machine and how?

Thanks

Zoltan
01-10-2008, 01:27
having problems accessing router with virgin wireless manager

I have already entered network name and password on an auto pop up website
(before using virgin wireless manager) after providing these I can not access net with my laptop and the wireless manager gives me the message (in the attached photo)

The router was supplied with Virgin b-band installation

please help

Raistlin
01-10-2008, 08:43
I've merged your two threads together, please don't open multiple threads for the same issue.

Thanks.

whydoIneedatech
01-10-2008, 08:49
First you need to fully uninstall the software from your computer, by first going to the system tray by the clock on desktop and exiting the wireless manager, then go to start > control panel >unistall programs> now unistall the wireless manager from here then exit .