PDA

View Full Version : Old Terayon modem.

mk1 bob
17-09-2008, 23:31
Hi All,
newbie here.
I have had the same terayon modem supplied by ntl about 7 yrs ago now, i have a v media engineer calling tomorrow because off loads of problems with connections, do you think that he will automatically replace my old modem as i think it must be well past its best by now, i don't know a lot about this type of thing but would expect theres been a lot of advances in the last 7 yrs.
cheers Bob.

Axegrinder
17-09-2008, 23:36
Yes definately, that modem is very old, the tech will definately replace it or thy will send you a modem. (Ambit 256).

mk1 bob
18-09-2008, 00:03
Thats nice to know, can anyone tell me how much difference there is likely to be.( terayon v ambit 256 ) and should virgin/ntl have replaced/upgraded me years ago, or do they wait for you to report faults first.

whydoIneedatech
18-09-2008, 00:09
Thats nice to know, can anyone tell me how much difference there is likely to be.( terayon v ambit 256 ) and should virgin/ntl have replaced/upgraded me years ago, or do they wait for you to report faults first.
If you are on 2mb then up to now the modem has been OK, but if you were on 4mb then it would need upgrading as all 4mb customers are being upgraded to 10mb free of charge and that Terayon is not capable of more than 6mb, so requires replacement.

Also the Ambit 256 is an Ethernet only modem so you will need a Ethernet port in your PC as it does not have a USB port fitted on the modem.

rswilson
18-09-2008, 09:55
Well that's funny!

I have a Terayon modem and regularly get 8.5Mbits/sec, having been upgraded from 4Mbits to 10Mbits.

When I queried Tech support if I need to swap my modem, they said it would make no difference.

Regards

Rob

whydoIneedatech
18-09-2008, 10:06
Terayon Terajet TJ210