PDA

View Full Version : New Street - Trying to get connected to VM

dslam
11-08-2008, 02:33
Hi All,

I'm a newbie on this forum so firstly "hi to all" and keep up the good work guys!

I live in an ex Telewest area which seems to have been cabled for about 10-15 years now. Since then loads of new streets have emerged and loads of areas have been re-developed over the years. Im currently in a newish street.

My frustration at the moment is that we're ~5Km from BT exchange which means you guessed it... near 'dialup' speeds over ADSL. Its very slow and not much anyone can do about it unless BT roll out VDSL... Cant see it happening!

I had VM round to check if my street could be cabled and the guy (contractor) was so disinterested even though I had gone out and found where the ducting goes he couldnt even be bothered looking at my google earth maps etc....

He reported back to VM that its a no-go and reported I am 800m away from the green box which is "too far" and a modem wouldnt work that far away from a green box... is this true?

Why are VM so disinterested in connecting new streets? I would have thought cabling them as they are built would be EASY and CHEAP since theres no pavements to upheave but NO they are NOT interested,

Ive argued until im blue in the face that I would fund any install work but they just want the easy life and ignore new customers.

Can anyone shed some light on how I can get connected? I estimate I am approx 200 metres from the nearest house with cable... 300m from the box.

Can a real installer let me know the distance figures please?

Any other suggestions? I have offered to pay for "construction" but they dont seem at all interested...

Thanks

WHISTLED
11-08-2008, 09:29
Why are VM so disinterested in connecting new streets? I would have thought cabling them as they are built would be EASY and CHEAP Its neither easy nor cheap to lay new cable, especially if would need new fibre.