PDA

View Full Version : New customer with an installation problem.

crossfancy
08-08-2008, 20:50
Hello, I'm (hopefully) going to be a new VM customer soon and am hoping that someone on the forum can help me as I'm new to cable. I've signed up for the fibre optic XL broadband and phone package.

The installation was due to happen this morning but no one turned up and when I called customer services it appears that the installation was cancelled following a survey yesterday which indicated I was not in a servicable area.

I don't really understand this as the VM website knows my postcode and house number and tells me I've got cable. I live in a 20 year old house in Bracknell towards the end of a cul-de-sac. My understanding is that the road was built to have cable in all the properties and all the houses have a grey fronted panel cut into the brickwork on the front of the houses. I removed my panel cover and can see a black cable coming up from the ground between the wall cavity. The cable has an end that looks like the one that goes into the set-top box from the satelite dish. Is this not the cable?

Do TV, Broadband and phone get sent down one cable or are there three?

If I have one of the cables could Virgin Media not somehow use this to pull through the other cables from the man hole cover halfway down the road?

I really want to have the 20mb broadband product but don't know if it's ever possible or whether I just need to fight with VM to get them to sort something.

Is anyone able to offer me some guidance on this please and please accept my apologies if any of these questions are particularly stupid!

Kymmy
08-08-2008, 20:55
Could be an old analogue cable... Also the database that VM use does have a few holes in it, try searching for SPOTTERS on the forum as you might need to ask for a spotter to come and survey the situation.

MovedGoalPosts
08-08-2008, 21:09