PDA

View Full Version : Jobs / Salaries / Prospects

Raistlin
17-08-2005, 02:54
Sorry about the vague title.....wasn't quite sure what to put.....

Ok, I'm thinking about a change of career, preferably to something with more of an IT angle to it.

At the moment I've got overall responsibility for the provision of IT services to about 200 users, basically I manage the local team that look after all of the 1st and 2nd line support. The main Administration is handled elsewhere on the site.
I'm part of the business management team where I work, so I'm looking after all sorts of different stuff (agreements with our customers, liasing with outside agencies, disaster recovery plans, business planning etc).
I've also been quite heavily involved in training, and developing training schedules for all sorts of things.

The rub is that, although I've got a lot of good knowledge/experience, I've got no formal qualifications.
I'm about to start studying for a degree which has a large IT slant to it, but that's not even started yet.

What are my chances of finding an IT job that would:

Be somewhere in the South-West (Bristol, Bath, Devon.....) or London,
Pay somewhere in the region of £30k p/a,
Be with an employer who is willing to cover the cost of my degree (or other training to achieve a recognised qualification)?

I know I'm asking the Earth, and I know that there are plenty of job search type sites out there - the problem is that everything that I've seen either asks for masses of qualifications/experience that I just don't have or has a starting salary so low that I wouldn't even be able to afford to pay the bills - never mind live :(

Xaccers
17-08-2005, 03:04
Finding one that would fund your degree would be the hardest part.
In IT, industry based qualifications tend to have more weight, things like the CCNA and MCSE, than an degree.
To be honest, if I were interviewing someone, their personal experience and IT qualifications would outweigh even an "IT" based degree