PDA

View Full Version : account restriced

buggerlugs
26-07-2008, 23:01
Ive been with VM since it was NTL and even beyond when it was diamond cable.
I've had internet for quite a few years now always having the mid to high broadband deals.

Several days ago I was testing my speed and though it a bit crap for 10mbit so I called VM.
When I asked why it was so slow I was told that my connection was only 4mbit, even though I've been paying £25 a month for around 18-24 months.
when I suggested £25 was a bit expensive for 4mbit compared to other operators the VM person suggested that other operators require a BT line - I reminded him I was paying £11 for a VM phone line too.

So a bit miffed I thought i would save some money and downgrade to the 2mbit package. I called back and explained this to customer services who explained that they couldn't deliver 10mbit until my local exchange was upgraded but she couldnt give me an ETA on it other than "probably before the end of the year".

She did tell me however that she could give me 20mbit and change my phone packed and it would cost me less each month than i was currently paying, so i went along with it.
I was told it could take upto 24hours before the speed increase registered.

30 hours later i called back informing them that i still only had 4mbit and the person on the other end who i couldnt understand flicked a switch and i had 20mbit. :mad:

So im all happy until this evening, 8pm my speed plummets back down to 4mbit. I spend a few hours messing with various bits of hardware, cables, firewalls etc but its suck at 4mbit.

At 10pm I called VM and was told the following;
"I can see that your connection has been crippled because you have tried to download more than 750mb during peak time"

I was extremely surprised and angry about this - I have never heard of this being done ever. All i could find was this text: