PDA

View Full Version : Cabling and Wiring

ruddock08
15-06-2008, 12:44
Hi guys,

I'm new to Cable Forum but thought I would join as I have very much appreciated some of the help other people have received on all things cable!

I am joining Virgin Media (Broadband L and Home Phone XL) as my uncle is on it and I have tried it and it is fantastic! You get the speed you pay for thanks to fibre optic.

Now the problem is, my phone point and broadband point are kind of opposite sides of the house, on the same floor.

The map I have attached is of my ground floor. The red dots indicate where I need the points, unfortunately I can't have my broadband and phone in the same place due to wireless printers which need to be directly attached to the router :dozey:.

Any ideas on where I should have the box attached to my house and how I should do the cabling? I want as minimal as possible, (my dad is picky about these things ;)) I would prefer the wiring to go outside my house as much as possible. The black scribble means that that section is outside btw :P

Cobbydaler
15-06-2008, 12:55
:welcome: to the forums!

The VM installers will do all the cabling required. You don't indicate on the diagram which point is where you require the phone & which the broadband.

With VM the phone & broadband will enter the house as a single cable & then be split. If you want to avoid a long run of cable across the house. I'd suggest a wireless router...

ruddock08
15-06-2008, 12:58
hi, thanks for the qucik reply. the one nearest the utility room is the phone and the other one broadband. yes, i know they will do the cabling but tbh, i dont think they will give a damn how much i can see it so i want some ideas on where i should ask them to run it thorugh.