PDA

View Full Version : Vista + Virgin Media no internet

John A
27-03-2008, 18:16
Hi can anybody help? After buying a new pc (with vista) i unplugged my old pc (xp) tried to connect the internet using an ethernet like my old pc and it gave me a "limited connection unknown network" message, so after hours of calls between the tech guys and virgin media, virgin blamed the pc and the tech guys blamed my 4 year old ntl modem they told me it was not compatible with vista and i should call virgin and get a new modem sent to me and it should be fixed. can anyone back this up as i wait for my new modem to arrive. im not very good with computers went through alot of changes and checks to the settings over the phone with both the tech guys and virgin tech support.

Druchii
27-03-2008, 18:22
Hi can anybody help? After buying a new pc (with vista) i unplugged my old pc (xp) tried to connect the internet using an ethernet like my old pc and it gave me a "limited connection unknown network" message, so after hours of calls between the tech guys and virgin media, virgin blamed the pc and the tech guys blamed my 4 year old ntl modem they told me it was not compatible with vista and i should call virgin and get a new modem sent to me and it should be fixed. can anyone back this up as i wait for my new modem to arrive. im not very good with computers went through alot of changes and checks to the settings over the phone with both the tech guys and virgin tech support.
And throughout all this they did tell you to unplug your modem wait 10 seconds and plug it back in right?

lostandconfused
27-03-2008, 18:25
The modem is compatibale with vista, but thats not to say that the modem isnt faulty.

you said you have phoned tech support, so i assume that they told you to reboot the modem?

Edit: beat to it

John A
27-03-2008, 18:35