PDA

View Full Version : Just signed up for 2MB VM-BB.

D_TOX
26-02-2008, 21:45
Hello all,

Seems people here are pretty helpful and friendly, so i thought i'd throw some of my queries out there about VM-BB.

First of all, im just a part-time working college student so went for the cheapest option from VM which was the 2MB BB, just broadband, no bundles. In my house we already have Sky up-to 8MB ADSL broadband but its been so crap the last 6 months, d/cing here and there, VERY dodgy 65Kb/s speeds so i have had enough and decided to just get my own separate broadband for my bedroom. But thats neither here nor there.

Anywho we used to have NTL nearly a year ago and when we got Sky they tore out the old NTL cable (yet half of it is still stickin to the house). I've arranged for a technician to come fit my new broadband and told them about the situation. Now i'm assuming they are going to connect up another piece of wire to the old NTL cable left-over? If that is so, then how will i be receiving the 'super duper fast fibre optic' broadband?

Also, what is this 'fibre optic broadband'? Is it just a gimmick? Does it actually provide better results than average DSL? On the 2MB connection, what is the average download speed you get with that? I spoke to the guy on the phone, naturally he told me 'as close to 2MB as you can get' which is obviously far from the truth (no offense Mr.Niceman).

Appreciate the replies, VM has actually been very helpful so far and i'm pleased with their customer relations.

Tech_Boy
26-02-2008, 21:59
1st off, the Sky installer should not have touched the old NTL wires.:mad:

The fibre optic cables run to the large green cabinets, from there to the house and the modem, the cable is coaxial (better than satellite quality aerial cable).

Unlike ADSL which relies on twisted pair cable and your proximity to the exchange, with Virgins Network the green boxes are never that far away, so speeds are pretty reliable (I get full connection speed 24/7).