PDA

View Full Version : Repull cable problems - no BB for 10 days - need advice...

corvusrex
23-11-2007, 11:53
First off, sorry for the long post....at the end of my tether!:mad:

My BBXL went down mid afternoon last Friday (16th Nov) so I called up CS and arranged for an engineer to attend on the following Monday. The symptoms were cable modem couldn't sync and/or ready light keeps blinking. I was a little annoyed that I was without internet for the weekend - I'm a web developer, so it *was* a pain - but was looking forward to getting it fixed on Monday.

The engineer arrives and checks the signal strength - it's -12 coming into the house from the street junction box. He went over to the box and told me that the cable had already been boosted to the maximum - probably when we had connectivity issues about 3 years ago. He tells me he will raise a work order to repull the cable. Finally get a call back saying that it will on Thursday 22nd.

Thursday rolls round and 2 perplexed engineers arrive. No problem, think I, you need 2 people for a repull. They check the cable modem (still having the smae problems) and the the signal strength (guess what? it's still too low for the modem to sync). Go back to the vans for a chat. I pop out 15 minutes later to see what's happening and they have both left (this is 10am).

At 11:30, I decide to ring BB support (got through to Wales) to see what's happening and when they will return only to be told that the work order has been closed and the cable was replaced. I point out that it hasn't been becuase a) they were there less than 15 minutes, b) I didn't see them pull any cables, and c) the cable is under my front garden that hasn't been touched. They promise to find out what's going on and call me back. Finally get a callback about 45 minutes later, the enginner's phone is switched off - engineering dispatch will call me back and let me know what time to expect the enginners back.