PDA

View Full Version : are isolators necessary??

rmlmtl
09-10-2007, 19:54
I am new to cabling so be gentle. I have recabled our house so that the cables are in sensible positions and reach the places I rather than NTL dictated in the past. All working well and dandy.

However I've now come across 'isolators'. To prevent power surges damaging equipment as I understand. So my questions are

do I need them
where should they be fitted (all or only some feeds etc)

Also can anyone point me to a good summary of dos and don't re cabling an NTL set up.

Thank you

scottyboydfc
09-10-2007, 20:42
Also can anyone point me to a good summary of dos and don't re cabling an NTL set up.

Yes, don't do it yourself, get VM out to do it :)

Losttheplot
09-10-2007, 20:48
You only need an isolator on the feed coming into the house.

hairy_mick
09-10-2007, 22:37
The iso is there to protect your equipment and virgins employee,s working on the network from electric shock hazard so its important that every settop or modem has its own isolator.

rmlmtl
09-10-2007, 22:46
so which is it guys?

1. isolator per settop/modem

or

2. one isolator on the feed coming into the house.

vote now?

Losttheplot
09-10-2007, 22:49
The iso is there to protect your equipment and virgins employee,s working on the network from electric shock hazard so its important that every settop or modem has its own isolator.

Absolute rubbish. One feed into the house needs one isolator. Splitters then feed any extra boxes/modems etc
If you had more than one feed into the house then yes more than one isolator.

sprattgraham
09-10-2007, 23:42
I don't have any isolator's, the cables come stragiht through the wall and into the equipment, only have splitters out side and when I’ve asked the tech he said it doesn’t mater and I’ve had a few techs out for other issues and none of them have done anything about it.

hairy_mick
10-10-2007, 08:21