PDA

View Full Version : Application Form Help

gazzae
13-08-2007, 09:35
Hi All,

I'm thinking of leaving my current job, I've been doing it for 8 years so its been a long time since I filled out an application form!

Any way the form asks me to... "detail how you meet each of the criteria as outlined in the personnel specification."

Two examples of the criteria are...

Ability to stay calm and work under pressure.
Use of initiative to solve problems.

So when filling out the form should I simply put...

I used my initiative to solve problems when xyz happened. An example of when I was able to stay calm under pressure was abc.

Or should I be phrasing it in a different way?

Thanks

Graham M
13-08-2007, 09:44
I think they might be looking for a bit more imagination when answering ubiquitous questions like that, try and impress them!

punky
13-08-2007, 10:01
How many lines space do they give you?

I'd also say you should be a bit more prose-y. Explain what happened, the thoughts at the time, and how it was sorted.

gazzae
13-08-2007, 10:15
So something like..

In my current job we had a failure with xyz. This is a critical piece of equipment and therefore placed a lot of pressure on me to fix the problem quickly. I worked through my standard troubleshooting routine, taking care not miss a simple problem, and solved the problem which was caused by abc.

---------- Post added at 10:15 ---------- Previous post was at 10:13 ----------

How many lines space do they give you?

Its an online application form so space isn't limited. Though I'd want it to be short and to the point.

danielf
13-08-2007, 10:17
I worked through my standard troubleshooting routine

Generally along the right lines, though I doubt they will be impressed by the bit I quoted (especially considering the other question).

gazzae
13-08-2007, 10:30
Generally along the right lines, though I doubt they will be impressed by the bit I quoted (especially considering the other question).

Why not?