PDA

View Full Version : ntlhome:200 won't support 20meg

steve1961
08-08-2007, 10:32
For anyone else on the Virgin XL package with an ntlhome 200 modem, despite Virgin's website insisting this is compatible with the service there is a problem with it's firmware. I rang technical support a couple of days ago and they told me about the firmware problem, and also that they had been authorised to send a new modem out to anyone who had this model and who wasn't getting the full speed. It arrived today, and the first speed test I did showed a download speed of 18 megs. Before this I'd never got more than 11

Chris
08-08-2007, 10:44
:welcome: to the forum Steve, and thanks for the info.

Did you have to jump through hoops to get them to admit this or was it a case of first time on the phone, they admitted a problem and agreed to send a replacement?

steve1961
08-08-2007, 15:39
This happened the first time I rang them. I'm an IT tech by trade and I told them I'd carried out every test imaginable with Vista, XP and even Linux, and the only possible bottleneck left was the modem - despite the website insisting it was compatible. The guy I spoke to just said 'you're probably right, there's a known firmware issue with that model. We've been told to send anyone who rings with speed problems related to the ntlhome:200 to just send them a free replacement'.

Anyway, it arrived 2 days later. A quick call to get the mac code registered on the network and I was up and running at full speed :)

Toto
08-08-2007, 16:57
I think my 250 modem is working fine, I certainly had problems with my old SB4100.

Retrovertigo
08-08-2007, 17:40