PDA

View Full Version : Virgin Media cable broadband on Windows ME

weggiewabbit
24-07-2007, 01:33
Can anyone help with this?

I had been using ntl’s broadband for 2 or 3 years connected via a cable modem – it was the 245 I think (the blue one which has USB and Ethernet connections). My broadband developed a fault a month ago and is now [at last!] working again, but Virgin Media sent me a new modem (I think it’s the 255 model – a black one with only an Ethernet connection … I could never get USB to work with the old one on either machine, anyway) and they then had to re-establish the connection.

A month ago I used to alternate using it on 2 PCs – one runs Windows ME and the other one XP.

Now I find I can only get it to work on the XP machine … they tell me that they no longer give technical support for ME, but there is a way, they hinted, to adjust your settings so it will work on ME. Apparently if I hadn’t had this fault it would still be OK on ME. The fault was with the connection outside the house – the engineer had to replace a splitter, he said.

I had been using a dial-up on the ME machine while waiting for them to fix it – I tried to reset it to how it was before, but thought I might have forgotten something.

I found a link on Google tonight to a well-hidden page on Virgin Media’s site [http://www.virginmedia.com/help/support/solution.php] which gives instructions on how to adjust your Internet Options in ME, but doing that didn’t fix it.

I use IE 6.0, which works well with ME in my experience.

I’d be most grateful for any ideas!

xspeedyx
24-07-2007, 09:02
Dont use ME just install xp on there ME was never that stable I do think you need to get rid of it

eth01
24-07-2007, 09:14
VirginMedia broadband will work on ME If you configure it appropriately no reasons as to why it wouldn't. However yes, if your looking for a stable OS use Win XP.

:D

zing_deleted
24-07-2007, 09:18
:welcome: you are rebooting the modem between pc changes?