PDA

View Full Version : Contact lenses All Day / All Night ???

Mike
18-07-2007, 14:21
Hi all

Having worn gas permeable contact lenses for 20 years I thought I would give soft ones a try. I do like the sound of the monthly all day and all night lenses. I.e. You don’t take them out for a month and sleep with them in.

Has anyone tried them and if so what are they like comfort wise and do they degrade towards the end of the month ?

Many thanks

Mike

keithwalton
18-07-2007, 14:52
I've been wearing them for two years or so now.

They are great in that you can just wake up in the morning and be able to see!

Yes they do degrade over time its so slow that you dont notice it until you put new lenses in! but thats after wearing them for quite abit more than a month (supply problems hit mine earlier this year, that and changing optician)

I get mine through tesco's of all places, £25 for 3 months / 3 sets, and its about £25 for a fitting / check per year (pay for one and the next 12 months are included) This beats the £16/month i was paying specsavers!

One thing to note as they get older they do get more troublesome first thing in the morning, much like if you slept in normal contact lenses, you just have to re-seat them in your eye and then they are fine

Rockabilly Spike
18-07-2007, 15:21
Yeah been wearing them from Specsavers since nov last year.
Only complaint is a bit of dry eye towards the end of the day but i have some Contact friendly eyedrops and its all good.

once my 12 months with specsavers is up i'm gonna check out some other places but cos my prescription was quite unusual specsavers had to charge me extra for mine.

Saaf_laandon_mo
18-07-2007, 15:32
Are they comfortable to sleep in too? Dont your eyes feel really dry as soon as you wake up?

Shaun
18-07-2007, 15:38
Mine didn't untill the hayfever season came around. I stopped waring them (and I was short of money at the time). when I went back to them I found I got dry eyes in the night and they hurt.