PDA

View Full Version : Cover Letter

ikthius
15-07-2007, 23:47
hey everyone,

I am applying for a job, and I think my CV and cover letter let me down, so I redesigned my CV, and am currently happy with it, although I am not so sure about the cover letter.

could someone please read it and let me know what they think, and if they can recommend any alternatives. My girlfriend helped me with this one, but she is not happy with the paragraph that says I would welcome....

I appreciate it if you could help

ik

smiffing
16-07-2007, 00:07
How I would write it.

My Address

15 July 2007

Dear Sir / Madam,

I am writing to you to express my desire to further my career within your organisation. I have been working for A Council as a Fitness Instructor for over 10 years and now I believe it is time for a fresh and exciting new challenge for myself.

I have previously completed a distance learning course with Computeach International in Java Programming. This course was self funded and for the most time self taught. The course covered additional languages such as Pascal, HTML, DHTML, CSS and JavaScript. However, to progress within the I.T. industry I am willing to learn new skills and languages, either through on the job training or open learning programmes undertaken in my own time.

Most recently, I have created a booking sheet using Java which implements SQL statements to connect to a Microsoft Access database. This program stores booking information for my current employer’s clients which will improve the efficiency of calculating statistics for generating management reports as currently this is done through a paper based system. Furthermore, the program makes it easier for gym staff to book clients in, see the day’s appointments and edit existing appointment details.

I would welcome the chance to continue my career in a company that excels in training their staff and have a busy and dynamic business ethic.

Attached is my curriculum vitae for your consideration.