PDA

View Full Version : Switching from Open University to other University

Raistlin
22-05-2007, 14:36
Afternoon all :)

I've been doing an OU degree for a couple of years now (a BSc(Hons) Computing with Business) and have enjoyed it immensely.

My employers have told me that they would be happy for me to change and do the degree through a different University on a part-time basis.

I think that doing the course (or an equivalent) through a 'proper' University would focus my mind more, and help me feel more at one (yes, I know :dozey:) with my education.

Has anybody had any experience in changing from OU to a different University, or does anybody know how this might work in practice (credit for previous OU modules etc)?

Also, if anybody has any good recommendations for Universities in East Anglia/Cambridge (or within striking/walking/tubing distance of King's Cross) that do IT related degrees then I would be grateful for that info too.

Thanks.

homealone
22-05-2007, 18:44
Shaun might know something about this, I believe he has done an OU course?

dcclanuk
22-05-2007, 19:04
Has anybody had any experience in changing from OU to a different University, or does anybody know how this might work in practice (credit for previous OU modules etc)?

Also, if anybody has any good recommendations for Universities in East Anglia/Cambridge (or within striking/walking/tubing distance of King's Cross) that do IT related degrees then I would be grateful for that info too.

1. Yes, some/all modules are transferrable and you are still credited for them, but this depends on the university.

2. List the uni's you are looking at, and if I can recommend you anything I will try:D

Raistlin
22-05-2007, 19:51
1. Yes, some/all modules are transferrable and you are still credited for them, but this depends on the university.

2. List the uni's you are looking at, and if I can recommend you anything I will try:D

Excellent, thanks.