PDA

View Full Version : University Help

Zee
19-05-2007, 11:21
I've applied for Computer Science course in several uni's, they've all accepted my offer, i called up asked if i'd be able to change the course which im doing.

Now i want to do a course in Computing, which doesn't have programming (like Java etc..) or mathematics (Quantitative methods etc...)

Does anyone know which course at uni would be good for me?

I'm weak at programming and computer maths and dont wish to continue studying it.

BBKing
19-05-2007, 11:23
Um, depends what you want to do. Programming is useful wherever you are, if you want a career in computing, since quite often you can save a lot of time/impress people with a simple script or batch file. On the other hand, I'd be very wary of someone wanting to work in IT who shied like a startled horse whenever programming was mentioned.

Gareth
19-05-2007, 11:26
I graduated in the last century, so I don't think I'm in a position to comment on the suitability of courses being run today.

You really need to be asking the question to your career adviser at your school/college. They will (should :erm:) be aware of the different courses and the different syllabi, etc... and will be much more qualified to answer your queries than a bunch of old has-beens on an internet forum.

This is a major decision which could affect your whole life - don't jump into something without having given it a lot of consideration, and without having asked the right people the right questions.

Good luck :)

Zee
19-05-2007, 11:28
Um, depends what you want to do. Programming is useful wherever you are, if you want a career in computing, since quite often you can save a lot of time/impress people with a simple script or batch file. On the other hand, I'd be very wary of someone wanting to work in IT who shied like a startled horse whenever programming was mentioned.

I've studied computers for a few years, stuff like the hardware and software part and how things work etc...