PDA

View Full Version : Newsgroup\Usenet slow downloads

Banjobill
25-10-2006, 22:28
This is my first post on this site as I've just been pointed in the direction of this place by a friend.

Sorry this could be a longish one though...

I subscribe to Newshosting for Usenet access, use Grab-It as my client and I have 10MB NTL connection.

I have been using this for around 7 or 8 months now with little or no problems at all.

In the last 2 weeks my download speed when using Newshosting has halved from around 1000k/sec to a maximum of 500k/sec (depending on which port I use). The port I have been using all this time is 119 (which I believe is the standard port for usenet). During these last 2 weeks when I have been using this port my download speeds have reduced to around 7k/sec.

Newshosting, when I have mentioned this to them have asked if I can use port 7000, 8000 or 9000 and this should correct the problem. But it is hit and miss with these ports as well but I can get around 500k/sec using these.

They have also said that it isn't anything at their end and have suggested that I speak with my ISP. When I've done this, they have asked me to check my speeds using NTL's own newsgroup access using port 119. As expected this runs at around 1000k/sec. At this point NTL say "speak to your newshoster". As you can guess it turns into a game of tennis.

I've carried out reverse traceroutes (that I can post here if needed) and Newshosting have said that it's clear that the problem is at NTL's side. When I came back to NTL with this they informed me "Yes, we are having some problems with newsgroups but we don't know when it'll be fixed"!!!!

Has anyone else had any similar problems with this or have any idea about what I can do to try and get this all sorted??

Rik
25-10-2006, 22:59