PDA

View Full Version : Moving home and a newbie

sticka
04-10-2006, 14:05
Hi all,

Please be gentle with me as it's my first time on here!

I currently have the basic SKY digital (not +, not HD and not multiroom) and have a BT line.

I am moving to a new home that has NO BT line, NO Satellite Dish and NO terrestrial aerial. It only has NTL phone and NTL DTV.

I could stay with SKY who can get a new Dish for me in about 5 days at a cost of £40.00 but there's no BT Line and BT have a current lead time of 3/4 weeks and it would cost £125.00 to have a BT Line installed.

Given that I've been with SKY for years, will I need to have a BT Line put in or will the existing NTL phone line do?

For that matter, does the SKY set-top box even need to be connected to a phone line? If not then I don't have to be in a hurry to get the phone sorted out either.

Please help as I don't know what to do for best. I've tried reading reviews of NTL vs SKY but can't seem to find out if NTL has all the bells and whistles that you get with SKY, e.g. interactive servies, digi text/red button, personal planner, series link, subtitles, etc. The single most important factor is that I must have all the Sky Sports channels - can't live without them - sad but true.

:confused:

Jules
04-10-2006, 14:36
Firstly welcome to the forum :wavey:
To the best of my knowledge you do not need your box connected to your phone line after the first year but would they class this as a new installation and as such start the first year thing off again? Something that may be worth asking them.

I am with NTL and I am happy with it but from what I have heard Sky beats NTL hands down if you want the all singing all dancing stuff with it, NTL do how ever have all the sports stuff that you want.

Now on to BT I wouldn't give them house room, I would rather crawl through a patch of nettles to make a phone call than go back to them but that is just my personal opinion :D

MovedGoalPosts
04-10-2006, 14:46