PDA

View Full Version : Port 22 blocked?

two_sevens_clash
12-07-2005, 13:54
Hello,

I am a web developer and use SSH/Telnet to access our web server. Over the past few weeks I've been unable to connect except for very brief periods. The normal response is 'error: the network connection has timed out' indicating that the server is uncontactable.

The server is actually fine and I can reach it by pinging, ftp (port 21), http (port 80) and mysql (port 3306). Only on port 22 do I have this problem. Other users of the server can connect using this method with no problems.

I have checked and disabled all firewalls and connected to the cable modem directly (I normally use a Netgear 4-port broadband router). This is also not a PC problem as it occurs on all machines I have at home (none of which have firewalls installed).

Does anyone know if NTL is blocking this port? Is anyone else aware/experienced this problem? I think it may be at their end but I haven't been able to find any information about this.

I have also asked this question on ADSL Guide - they pointed me to the information in the link below showing which ports NTL blocks. Is it the case that 22 has been added to this list?

http://www.adslguide.org.uk/newsarchive.asp?item=1729

Thanks in advance,

Paul.

Toto
12-07-2005, 14:11
No, ntl do not block this port.

I can access port 22 from a number of different IP addresses on ntl's network.

The list you have has not been added to as far as I can tell.

Oops :welcome: to the site :)

two_sevens_clash
12-07-2005, 14:28
Thanks, Toto!

That's very interesting. The problem for me only seems to have occurred after an upgrade to the 2Mb service about three months ago. I have tried rebooting the NTL modem several times since to get a newly assigned IP address but it hasn't made any difference.

Well, at least there's a hope of being able to work again! I guess I'll have to investigate my home setup some more....:dozey:

Thanks for your help,

Paul.

Nemesis