PDA

View Full Version : does anyone have any weird facts?

shredder
16-06-2005, 20:54
if you do post them! probably sounding really stupid now :dunce: ....but is this true?
A ducks quack doesn't echo, and no one knows why?

i just felt like confusing myself more than usual today!

JohnHorb
16-06-2005, 21:00
"Eskimos use Bauxite as snuff"

Don't even know if it is true, but we had it made into a poster on the living roon wall when I was a student.

MetaWraith
16-06-2005, 21:24
if you do post them! probably sounding really stupid now :dunce: ....but is this true?

The duck's quack not echoing is one of those internet myths / urban legends.
See these links amongst others.
http://www.acoustics.salford.ac.uk/acoustics_world/duck/duck.htm

http://www.physlink.com/Education/AskExperts/ae482.cfm

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/science/nature/3086890.stm

Angua
16-06-2005, 21:43
Hemerocallis (day Lily's) are edible (taste like lettuce).:scratch:

Also you could always check here to see if facts presented are really true or not http://www.museumofhoaxes.com/hoax

Macca371
16-06-2005, 21:44
If you swallow chewing gum it takes 6 months to digest :erm:

shredder
16-06-2005, 22:43
http://www.justtoiletpaper.com/

not really a fact....but it is random!

leef78
16-06-2005, 22:55

Haha! :) thats what I used to thinl/heard but when watching sky's brainiac science abuse, they made some guy take a duck to a cathedral to prove it does echo.... :)

Dolphins sleep with one eye open!!!

Ramrod
16-06-2005, 22:57
The 'click' you sometimes get from joints is caused by a bubble of nitrogen imploding...............

danielf
16-06-2005, 23:00
The 'click' you sometimes get from joints is caused by a bubble of nitrogen imploding...............

I think you may have been smoking just a few too many of them :p: :D

robtufts
16-06-2005, 23:01
Japan nearly ran out of 200 yen coins when space invaders was released.

homealone
16-06-2005, 23:21