PDA

View Full Version : NTL Broadband - Linksys wireless router - belkin wireless card - NEED HELP!!!!

straygoat
13-06-2005, 08:38
Hello

Can somebody please help me? I am trying to set up my NTL broadband to work with a wireless router and am having a lot of trouble. What I want to be able to do is connect the modem to a wireless router and then have a desktop pc connect to the router wirelessly and also have a wireless laptop connection.

I am not a computer techie, so don't really know what I am doing - I don't understand half of the stuff in the router manual so I'm kind of stuck.

What I have done so far is:

1. installed a Belkin wireless g network card and its drivers on the desktop pc

2. Setup an NTL ethernet connection between the modem and desktop pc. This works fine and I can get to the internet.

3. Connected the modem to a linksys Wireless G WRTS4G router via an ethernet cable. When configuring the router, I had an ethernet connection from the desktop to the router aswell (as instructed).

What I have got now is - desktop can connect to the internet via the router, but only via the ethernet cable connection between router and desktop. As soon as I remove the ethernet cable, the internet is unavailable.

When I ping the router, I don't get any replies unless the ethernet connection is in place. On my desktop, the pop-up says that there is a wireless connection.

Can anybody tell me in bog troll terms (layman's terms might be over my head!) how to set up my wireless router so that it works as I want it? I'm not sure that the wireless connection between my wireless card and wireless router is working correctly - not sure how to check this or to put it right.

If anyone can put me out of my misery, please get in touch as soon as you can!

Thanks a lot

Craig

Neil
13-06-2005, 09:16
Try going into 'MAC Address Filtering' in the Router, & adding the MAC Address of your wireless card.

:welcome: to the site. :)