PDA

View Full Version : Router Problem

Mayne
26-05-2005, 15:04
Hi,

I have been using NTL broadband for a year now with an Edimax router. Its been running fine but the other night I had to reformat my hdd. After installing Win XP my connection seemed fine & running very nicely (i had not disconnected anything or switched of the modem). I installed SP1 then the additional updates but after rebooting my pc it coudn't connect to the internet. I unplugged the router and connected my ethernet cable directly to the modem & it now connects but at a very slow speed - takes ages for any pages to load.

I cannot get the router to work at all, although it can connect to the router configuration page.

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to networking & think perhaps I've missed something tho its strange my internet was working fine before installing the new updates. I rolled back using system restore but it had no effect. Should I have re-installed the broadjump cd?

Any help appreciated!

Stuart
26-05-2005, 17:01
Have you rebooted the cable modem? Assuming the PC is connected, power down the PC and modem. Unplug the modem from the mains. Wait 30 seconds. Plug in the modem. Wait for the lights on the front of the modem to settle, then power on the PC. If the router is connected, do the same, but power down and up the router, not the PC.

Mayne
26-05-2005, 22:16
Thanks for your reply.

Something strange happened.

Well I had already tried your advice tho I tried it again - turned everything off then booted the modem, waited a min, powered up router, waited a min then turned on PC - nothing. I noticed the WAN light on the router wasn't lit.

I then decided to turn everything off again & power on the modem AND router at the same time. Guess what? After nearly a minute the WAN light came on. I then turned on my PC and now it connects to the internet fine!

I really don't understand computers sometimes!