PDA

View Full Version : Can I change my PC mac address to my PS2 mac address?

DDP
16-05-2005, 19:42
Hi,
Just got a network adaptor for my PS2 and as I am new to this :(
I found out that you need to pay NTL (which I have 1MB, set top box) £5. so that i can register my MAC address. My Question is, I found some free software that will change my PC mac address or seem like it has changed. Will this get me in to some **** with NTL? or will they not know what iam doing? and most important of all will this work?

look forward to your answers.
yours thankfully
A complete novice

Chris W
16-05-2005, 21:03
Hi,
Just got a network adaptor for my PS2 and as I am new to this :(
I found out that you need to pay NTL (which I have 1MB, set top box) £5. so that i can register my MAC address. My Question is, I found some free software that will change my PC mac address or seem like it has changed. Will this get me in to some **** with NTL? or will they not know what iam doing? and most important of all will this work?

look forward to your answers.
yours thankfully
A complete novice

the ps2 service is available through a cable modem only, but is not £5 it is £2. However, it is only available on the 2 and 3meg packages- hence cheapest monthly would be £26.99.

depending on the type of network card you have you can change the mac address by going onto device manager and the advanced properties of the network card.

However, wouldn't it be easier to just clone your pc's mac address onto the ps2?

The only thing i will say in terms of whether ntl will give you a telling off is

21. Gaming Consoles

You may only connect XBox gaming consoles to the ntl network using a designated Xbox compatible broadband access product.

Users may only connect PlayStation 2 gaming consoles to the ntl network using a designated PlayStation 2 compatible broadband access product.

Interpret that however you see fit........

TheBlueRaja
16-05-2005, 21:08