PDA

View Full Version : Complete Wireless Solution

williyam
07-04-2005, 11:10
Hello, sorry if I'm repeating a previous thread but I couldn't find the info I wanted.

Basically as a wireless newbie I'm trying to find out if it is possible to have a completly wireless solution using my between my STB and PC, and what equipment I need.

This is what I would like:

Room1
[Cable In]->[STB]->[Wireless Router]-)))

Room2
(((-[PC with Wireless Card]

Room 3
[PDA with Wireless Card]-)))
[Laptop with Wireless Card]-)))

I realise that I will need the PC connected to the router initially to set it up, however once that is done can I revert to the configuration above, or do I need another bit of equipment?

The rooms are right next to each other so no problems with distance.

Any help would be great

nighthawk
07-04-2005, 11:22
Yip you are correct. You only need to connect your laptop to the router (via RJ45) to set it up. Although it is possible to set everything up via wi-fi, it tends to be easier to configure it cabled.

Your set-up is easily acheivable, the only thing i would suggest (and this is purley a personal opinion), would be to get as much of the kit from the same manufacturer as possible. It just tends to make the set-up easier.

Stuart
07-04-2005, 11:30
It should work, although I have found it's best to leave one PC connected to the router via a cable just in case there are problems with Wireless (you may need to access the router's configuration web pages and won't be able to do this if you don't have a wired connection and the wireless is up the creek).

Still, you don't have to do that. If the wireless network does die, you can take the laptop into room 1 and plug that into the router.